Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for March 2nd, 2011

After publishing a post a couple days back (which sparked lots of discussions and emails!), my friend and coaching guru, Molly, wrote a comment that hit home.  She said:

“My two cents? Stop planning for a minute and start playing. Take those long weekends and evenings and do whatever it is that inspires you in the moment. Walks in the snow? Making soup? Curling up with candles lit and travel magazines in hand? Calling an old friend? Bring something thrilling to YOU to the moment. Take a break from the spreadsheets.”

My first thought: She clearly doesn’t understand the value of a good spreadsheet! 

My second thought: Why do people always say that rest and play is so important to living a fulfilled and satisfying life?  I don’t have time for all of that!  DO, GO, PLAN…those things are the most important!

My third thought: Thank you Molly, for permission for me to stop with the crazy! 

It’s true that my most clear ideas come when I least expect it, perusing Borders, walking Basil or just sitting around.  Staring at a computer screen and willing a good idea to hatch is not typically the best idea-generating activity.  I wish it were, since I spend a lot of time in front of screens of various sorts, but alas. 

In fact, a lot of my recent revelations about my stuff and my time and my priorities came to me while hanging out in a hammock in Cambodia (Friendly Tip: If you never want to have a deep thought about your life and where it’s going, don’t go to Cambodia).

The hammock where all my crazy life-altering ideas appeared!

As a Type A’er with a competitive spirit, it’s difficult for me to:

  • Come to terms with the fact that slowing down and not trying so hard are keys to tapping into the good stuff of life
  • Give myself permission not to produce, check-off and otherwise plan away my time
  • Admit that some things are illogical, and cannot be explained no matter how much logic I try to force upon it.

My sister, Lisa, is currently in Ethiopia kicking ass and taking names and was noticing how much more enjoyable her time is when she allows herself just to accept the way things are (in particular, the aspects about her life there that she cannot control).  Her post about it is here and she’s an exceptional writer.  She begins and closes her post with reference to the Serenity Prayer (below), which I also really love.  

I think I’m going to take Molly’s advice, allow some serenity in my life, take the steps I can, and trust that my path will unfold clearly.

 

Read Full Post »