Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 17th, 2010

This year it has become clear to me how important it is to appreciate what I have.  I tend to be a forward/future thinker, always planning what’s next, looking forward to something new, and basically just tolerating the here and now for the better things that are to come.  While this can be fun (who doesn’t look forward to an upcoming vacation?), it also leaves me feeling unsatisfied.  So, I’ve been working to be mindful of my life as it is NOW, and appreciate things every day.  By the way, my sister Laura is an expert at this.  She is the most present-minded person I know. 

To help me out in my quest to appreciate, I started a gratitude journal.  I keep it by my bed, and write in it for about two minutes a day.  Just a quick list of things I’m grateful for that day.  Here’s a shot of it:

If you can’t read it because the picture is so tiny, on 4/21 I was grateful for soft-serve ice cream and sweatpants.  I’m pretty deep like that.  But, I am realizing that what I write isn’t really the important part (plus, who doesn’t like soft serve and sweatpants?) – it’s taking the time to consider that I’m grateful for that’s important.  Today, I’m grateful for alphabet stickers and my company’s new office!

Read Full Post »